top of page

168 Easy Steps to....


168 Easy Steps

If you are reading this already, well done. 5 easy steps sounds much nicer. I can sort that problem much more easily and quickly.

The point is, all of it is useful and most likely “ good stuff” and helpful. But “5 reasons to......7 steps for success.....6 good things to eat....8 things not to do.....does seem to be on the increase.

There are many reasons people are drawn to certain ideas and not others. It's called advertising. But more precisely “Confirmation Bias”. This means that you seek and agree with what ever makes you feel comfortable and “fits” with what you believe already.

The idea being that when you have a set of thoughts, your life continues in that way. So change them, and your life will continue in “that” way. How you see other people also gets stuck in a pattern. Look at all those couples who have the same arguments for decades. “Stuck” in a pattern of thought.

It's the same with play ground group mentality. Stick together and feel stronger. religion being the most obvious example, and even science.

“I believe what I have know for years and have been taught for years by my peers” is an example of "stuck in the mud" thinking.

And yet all the most interesting advances in ...well, everything have come from “ideas” that were first rejected by these “confirmation biased groups”.

I post here not because I have a Phd, or long blonde hair, or to get your attention. After 20 years of addiction and then genuinely succeeding in moving away from all those urges and also those patterns of behaviour. And I might add without all the urges and angst of giving up something. My simple answer is listening.

The key I found to real success after looking at the 12 steps, many spiritual books, many psychologists, many addicts, was just to listen with an "open" mind, but over a long time.

The glass of water image. If you drop clear water into a glass full of dirty water , it will become a clear glass of water over time.

If you sit in a room full of people all talking about a particular subject. Which ones are you going to take notice of. The ones that speak well, the pretty ones, the ones from your country, social back ground, your football team supporters, or all of them. You don't have to take on all the advice, but actually listen before you make the judgement not to listen. My long time of addiction would have been halved if I hadn't dismissed people that I thought didn't get “my” situation or understand “my” issue from “my” perspective.

You can't fix a problem with the same mind that created it. Change your perspective, change your life.

So when I say in my book, "Gladiators of Light", a “football team of angels” helped me out of addiction. I am not inferring that angels play football. I am saying it took 168, well a lot, of easy steps over a long time...to realise... that it was just one easy step. Listen, with an open mind, change your perspective, change your life. Is that 4 easy steps? Ah..I will publish the next two later and make some money.

The many different ideas on how we treat and perceive addiction, depression, trauma. And we tend to treat and observe it as if its a certain group of people. Trauma, depression can happen to anyone, and addiction can follow. Of course it varies with individuals. But don't think you are different from an addict, a smoker, an abused victim, or just someone who gets depressed anxious or the most common human condition, " I haven't met the right partner or achieved the success I wanted". There are no 5 easy steps to fix that or an additional two in the next book. It's just life, just learning from past not dwelling in it, moving to the future but enjoying the present.

Change your perspective, what you focus on, your very vibrational frequency will change , and so will your life.

Thomas Fairfoot. Author of "Gladiators of light" and Comedian.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B075T2Y6BQ/ref=abs_add_sc_

bottom of page